Miami Dolphins Header Image

Who and what are the Miami Dolphins?

logo logo

Founded in 1966 as a member of the AFL,(which later joined the NFL) the Dolphins made themselves a great franchise by hiring Don Shula as coach in 1970- he would help lead the team until 1995! Miami had 7 playoff berths in the 1970s, making the Super Bowl 3 straight times from 1971-73. They won 2 of these 3, taking Super Bowls VI and VII. Super Bowl VI made Miami become the only team in NFL history to go undefeated at 17-0. An urban legend is that members of the '72 Dolphins celebrate a toast each year when the last undefeated team loses. They also Lost the Superbowl in 1982 and drafted Dan Marino as quarterback the next season. Marino led the Dolphins to a loss in the Super Bowl in 1984 and to 10 playoff berths in his career which lasted until 1999. However, the league's all time leading passer never won a championship. Have not made the playoffs since 2001, just barely missing them in 2002 and 2003.