header image: photo of Kyrie Irving and Gordon Hayward

The Boston Celtics are an American professional basketball team that are based in Boston, Massachusetts, they compete in the NBA, and are a member of the Eastern Conference Atlantic Division. The Celtics were founded in 1946 and are one of the original teams to survive the league’s first decade.

The Celtics are the most successful basketball franchise with 17 championships.They have also won 21 Eastern Conference Finals, this means that they have won their conference 21 times. The Celtics also have 22 Atlantic Division titles too. The Celtics have won a record eight consecutive championships, this is the most straight championships won in the NBA history. The Celtics have not won a championship since 2008, but coach Brad Stevens is leading the Celtics this year. They have a good chance of winning the championship because they are second in the Eastern Conference.

The Celtics have retired 21 numbers, they have retired Walter Brown’s number 1, Arnold Auerbach’s number 2, Dennis Johnson’s number three, Bill Russell's’ number 6, JoJo White’s number 10, Bob Cousy’s number 14, Tom Heinsohn’s number 15, Tom Sanders’ number 16, John Havlicek’s number 17, Dave Cowens’ number 18, Don Nelson’s number 19, Bill Sharman’s number 21, Ed Macauley’s number 22, Frank Ramsey’s number 23, Sam Jones’ number 24, K.C. Jones’ number 25, Cedric Maxwell’s number 31, Kevin Mchale’s number 32, Larry Bird’s number 33, Paul Pierce’s number 34, Reggie Lewis’ number 35, Robert Parish’s number 0, and Jim Loscutoff’s LOSCY jersey.