Tampa Bay Buccaners


Warren Sapp

Warren Sapp

Warren Carlos Sapp (born December 19, 1972) is a former American football defensive tackle. A Hall of Famer, Sapp played college football for the University of Miami, where he was recognized as a consensus All-American and won multiple awards. Sapp played in the National Football League (NFL) from 1995 to 2007 for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders, making the Pro Bowl seven times. Following Sapp's NFL career, he was an analyst on NFL Network until 2015. Sapp was drafted by the Buccaneers in the 1995 NFL Draft as the 12th overall pick. In his nine seasons with the Buccaneers, he earned seven trips to the Pro Bowl and a Super Bowl ring in 2002. He moved to the Raiders in 2004. His 96.5 career sacks (100 with playoffs included) are the second-highest career sacks for a defensive tackle and the 28th-highest overall for a defensive lineman. His 77 sacks with the Buccaneers are the second-most in the team's history to Lee Roy Selmon's 78.5. His career was checkered by controversy from his hard-hitting style of play and occasional verbal outbursts, both on the field and off, some of which resulted in fines by the league, and he was once ejected from a game for unsportsmanlike conduct. In his first year of eligibility, on February 2, 2013, he was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Buccaneers entered him into their Ring of Honor on November 11, 2013, and retired his number 99 jersey. Sapp became the second Buccaneer to have his jersey retired, after Selmon.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers old team

The 1979 Tampa Bay Buccaneers team was a turning point for the franchise the team was known for the only National Football League for 26 consecutive losses. But the 1979 team was a huge turning point. Tampa Bay's early success was an excellent defense led by Hall of Fame defensive end Lee Roy Selmon, who was the Bucs' first draft choice and the number one pick of the 1976 NFL draft. In his nine-season career, Selmon was named to the NFC Pro Bowl team six times and was selected as the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1979. Offensively, the 1979 Buccaneers were led by quarterback Doug Williams and running back Ricky Bell, who gained 1,263 yards. The Buccaneers reached the playoffs for the second time just two years later in 1981. They again won the NFC Central division championship with a 9-7 record. As was the case in 1979, it took a dramatic 20-17 final-week win over the Detroit Lions to clinch the title. Selmon on defense and Williams at quarterback were once again key players for the Buccaneers.

Super Bowl

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers won the Super bowl XXXVII (37) in 2003. This was a monumental moment for the Buccaneers because this team was the only team in the NFL (National Football League) to lose 26 consecutive games. But they will now be known as the Super bowl XXXVII champions. The games constants were Oakland Raiders and of course the one and only Tampa Bay Buccaneers. The final score was 48-21 Buccaneers. The first quarter went 3-3 tampa bay’s Martin Gramatica kicked a field and so did the raiders Sebastian Janikowski. The second quarter the buccaneers scored 17 points with one field goal by Martin Gramatica and a run from Mike Alstott then PAT (Point After Touchdown). The third quarter score was 34-9 buccaneers. Keenan McCardell scored a touchdown at the nine minute and thirty seconds then Martin Gramatica scored a PAT. Then Dwight Smith intercept the ball and scored a pick six at the tenth minute and thirteenth second. Final the raiders Jerry Porter scored a touchdown at the twelfth minute and forty six seconds.The fourth quarter score was 48- 21 tampa bay buccaneers. Then every Buccaneers fans went crazy and started celebrating their first Super Bowl victory. The head coach was Jon Gruden and the owner was Malcolm Glazer but he sadly passed away May 28,2014. The man of the match was Dexter Jackson, he is the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Safety. He got two interceptions during the super bowl.